Discussion Forum

Forum >> Discussions >> AM I DOING THIS RIGHT???   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
zwmorris

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
ok so i know i'm not a pro baseball GM. I started this game in January. I had a middle of the road team with some vets and some rookies. WE werent doing too hot so i made some changes and went into total rebuild mode. I cut the older overpaid guys and started drafting 16 to 18 yearolds. now its 4 simulated years later and these guys (some) are starting to come around. we are however still struggling. i'm now drafting college kids to get here to the majors faster to help out. i dont want to sign free agents. am i doing this correctly? someone look at my roster and give me advice. do i have a good core? any suggestions would be awesome thanks!
Randy Bobandy

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
Didn't bother to take a look at the roster but yeah, if you decide to total rebuild you're gonna suck for a while there. Mind you if all the guys you draft end up not being good it's just gonna be a vicious circle. You should be signing a free agent here and there to help bridge the gap like you're trying to do by now drafting college guys though. Not every guy you draft is good so...
Crunchtime

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
I'd say you're on the right track, same track I'm on. Coming into season 4 myself, running constantly a dozen games below .500. But ... looking better. Given you're committed to the long game and drafting, one thing I think you should keep in mind is sustainability. Make sure you have a couple new guys with good upside come out of the minors every year.

if you can turnover the old guys with new, young arms and bats, you'll do well in the long run. Then you can just use the waiver wire to fill in holes and areas of need. Good luck to ya.
Randy Bobandy

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
Hey Crunchtime, we joined on the same day!
crackit

Anchorage Lawless
IV.4

Broken Bat Baseball