Discussion Forum

Forum >> Discussions >> Rebuilding - Which 1B would you chooose?   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
wickersty

Deadwood Perambulators
II.1

Broken Bat Baseball
Lopez

Garza

At the moment, I've got them platooned L/R. But I'm leaning toward Lopez as the full time 1B, because he has 13POT and very good hitting, in comparison to Garzas 12POT and only "good hitting" (and Garza is almost out of SI development room), even though Garza has prolific slugging.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Cactusguy21

Presque Isle Vikings
III.4

Broken Bat Baseball
It seems to me, I could be wrong, I am a newb, that Lopez is underdeveloped for his age. 26 and only 77? Missing 2032 for development seems to have hurt him. Plus he hasn't even gone through AAA yet, so I doubt if he's ready for the majors. I would pick Garza.
wickersty

Deadwood Perambulators
II.1

Broken Bat Baseball
That's interesting... have Lopez spend his age 26 season in AAA, since he never really got any AAA time. I wonder what the general consensus is here among veteran BB players: is it a good idea to force a 26 y/o to spend a year in AAA if he's never gotten any AAA time? Or at that point should you start him in the majors enliven though he is pretty badly underdeveloped?
boltsman

Eden Prairie Wolves
II.1

Broken Bat Baseball
It seems that you have a decent 1B prospect coming up the pipe in Alfredo Mejia. Now if your long term plan is to have someone who can hit very well in that spot, then whoever you stick in your lineup this season is just a short term fix. In this case, I would prefer Garza because he is almost fully developed now, and can give you a couple season of passable numbers before you get rid of him.