Discussion Forum

Forum >> Discussions >> Tips for a solid rebuild   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
DoDo

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
Hi everyone, I'm new to BB. Now, I'm asking for some tips from anyone to a solid rebuild. My team's finances are okay.
Haselrig

Novi Doubledays
III.4

Broken Bat Baseball
Hey DoDo. Looking at your roster, I'd say you've already done most of the work of cleaning out expensive, old (31+ year old) guys. Now it's a matter of finding targets for the reopening of free agency. You likely won't get the majority of players you claim, so cast your net wide. Throw a claim on anybody that is reasonably young and is, even a marginal, improvement over whoever you have now.

Pay particular attention to minor league aged guys. Ideally, you'd want to stock all four levels of your minors (Rookie - AAA) with talented players ASAP and then proceed to upgrade them whenever possible with your own draft picks or high potential waiver claims. Usually those sorts of plans don't go through without a hitch, so be prepared for some setbacks. The main thing is to be patient and do a little scouting of free agents every day. Welcome to BB and good luck o/
Seca

Waterloo Dinosaurs
Legends

Broken Bat Baseball
Welcome. :) Good luck with your team. Hope you enjoy the game.

I didn't study your team. These are general thoughts that may or may not apply to your situation.

Apologize for the wordy post. Just skimming through for the tips might be better use of your time. ;)

It is pretty common to inherit a team in need of a major rebuild. Your team may not have been cared for in a while, and probably has a number of older players. These guys are often past their peak and kind of expensive. As Haselrig said, replacing these guys with younger, cheaper players heading into their prime is the main objective.

Tip #1 - Seen the movie Logan's Run? Get rid of old, low skill, expensive players.