Help

Forum >> Help >> Holy long-term injury, Batman!   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
lostraven

Corvallis Ravens
II.1

Broken Bat Baseball
This is my first time experiencing a major injury. My closer, Young Ja Kim, just went down for 36 days!

Since there's no DL here, what do other managers do in this case? Do you just send the player to AAA to get him off the Majors roster? Is doing that detrimental in any way to the player? Help!
mcrmoe

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
In MLB there is a roster limit of 25 (before expansion), hence the need for a DL. In BB, it is fixed at 40. So roster spots aren't as "valuable".

In the case of younger players (sub 27) I´m not sure if they get minor league experience if injured, so that might be a reason for shipping them to AAA.

As for me, I just moved them out of the rotation or lineup and hope for the best.
lostraven

Corvallis Ravens
II.1

Broken Bat Baseball
Certainly not worried about getting experience if I move him to AAA. I just want to be sure I can move him off my Majors roster to AAA for the duration w/o doing any harm to the player. I assume the answer is "that's not a problem," but I don't know if the Minors have a mechanism for avoiding injured players.

P.S. And I certainly get that there's not a need for a DL here. I was just asking since we don't have a DL, how have others dealt with long-term injuries. Sounds like you just leave him in the Majors but unassigned.

Updated Saturday, January 14 2017 @ 4:18:50 pm PST
Philliesworld

Pierre Jacobins
III.3

Broken Bat Baseball
Correction,
The Brokenbat major league roster is set at 30.
Rock777

Haverhill Halflings
III.1

Broken Bat Baseball
So basically your roster plus 5 DL spots. But in that guys case he is young enough that he might actually benefit more by being in AAA.
newtman

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball