III.1

Broken Bat Baseball
? You going to code it then?
amalric7

New York Lancers
V.4

Broken Bat Baseball
-1 to this idea.

If you want to keep your roster at the 50 player max, you can - you just can't sign free agents/waiver claims. Can't have your cake and eat it!
Geech

San Luis Obispo Turtles
IV.8

Broken Bat Baseball
"? You going to code it then?"

Of course not, but neither is Crazy Li for that matter.
Rock777

Haverhill Halflings
III.1

Broken Bat Baseball
How are you assessing it would be easy. It doesn't look that simple to me. Lot of edge cases and dependencies. Lots of potential to break things. But I am a developer, so I might view it differently than you.

Updated Tuesday, March 7 2017 @ 2:48:58 pm PST
Geech

San Luis Obispo Turtles
IV.8

Broken Bat Baseball
Rock, I guess I should clarify that the idea I was supporting was the contingency drops. I guess if you're talking about his suggested interface changes, then I agree that's probably somewhat complex.

However, there really wouldn't be that much complexity for a contingency drop. At the resolution of a waiver claim, the algorithm must already check for a full roster. So you could add a couple more steps in which it checks for an assigned contingency player. If it finds one it drops the player and awards the claim. If it doesn't, then the waiver claim is lost like normal.
Rock777

Haverhill Halflings
III.1

Broken Bat Baseball
The drop itself is probably not a lot of code, but you do need UI and other components to support its usage. You also need to ensure the correct checks are in place. Imagine the screaming the first time someone loses their Ace because the wrong player was dropped. Even simple changes create more work than its seems should be needed (mostly because all computers are evil gremlins in disguise and code will also intentionally follow the letter of the law rather than the obvious spirit of what you tell it to do ;)).