Suggestions

Forum >> Suggestions >> Idea: Winter Tryouts.   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
Haselrig

Novi Doubledays
III.4

Broken Bat Baseball
Listen, guys, I understand you feel it's your job to protect the status quo from radical bomb-throwers trying to rock the boat, but none of these suggestions ever makes it into the game. I've been making suggestions on this forum since the first week I started playing Broken Bat. Not one has ever made it. I know of what I speak.

Extending waivers would actually upset the status quo more than the try-out idea without out ever addressing any of the things try-outs seeks to accomplish. What happens when you remove the early season waiver feeding frenzy from the game? Does the game improve with that change?

Your idea boils down to: "Waivers suck, let's have more waivers". No. If you want to fix waivers, go back and find a suggestion by a fresh-faced young Turk named Seca (whatever happened to that guy). His was the fix waivers needed, but (and feel free to say it with me kids) none of these ever makes it into the game.
MukilteoMike

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
Lmao. Sour Grapes, so predictable.

From the original post...

The main ideas of this proposal are to give teams an extra option for acquiring a player in addition to free agency and the draft, and to give team owners something to do during a notoriously dead portion of the season besides twiddling their thumbs.

Extending waivers for five days (or however long) addresses the part I put in bold from the proposal.
It also would have virtually no impact on the spring waiver frenzy. Nice try.

I'm not sure what idea you're referring to that originated from Seca. Every once in awhile old ideas can be brought up again to see what people think due to the new climate. Open it up again if you think it's appropriate.