Suggestions

Forum >> Suggestions >> Trades   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
Rock777

Haverhill Halflings
III.1

Broken Bat Baseball
The nice thing about Jalapeno's suggestion is that it addresses both of those issues that Newtman highlighted, while still doing a pretty good emulation of Free Agency. I think we would still have the FA as it exists today. But that is really more like filler FA. This system would morph the existing waiver system into something more similar to high stakes FA. You would still be able to sign the dregs that leak through for free.
brentswagger

Lakeville Bears
IV.2

Broken Bat Baseball
I'm still very new but I tend to agree with Newton. I have played in some of these types of football leagues where the top established teams always have a huge advantage of a big bankroll and large incoming income and they can usually buy who they want. As a newbie I like this system so far where all teams have an equal chance at a waiver pickup. It seems equally fair.
pyrog

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
I see. Basically, to me, it sounds like free agency with a salary cap (like the NFL). I think I like the idea; however, I agree with some of the previous posters that we should be careful to how much we eliminate RNG. I think when playing a computer game what gives it that human, realistic element is the randomness implemented. What makes sports so great is you never know what's going to happen (probably the only guarantee is the Cubs not winning the World Series). Maybe the current waiver system has too much randomness factored in but it would be a mistake to have a system that goes too far the other way.
WizKid

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
What does Steve think? Is a bidding system even feasible?
Tiger504

Kalamazoo Bloody Tigers
III.4

Broken Bat Baseball
It does boil down to what Steve thinks.